Connect with us





iReporters News.

Governor Udom Emmanuel Friday night emerged Governor of The Year, 2018” for his diligent delivery of democratic dividends and keeping Akwa Ibom in peace and prosperity” at the Eko Hotel and Convention Centre, Lagos.

Emmanuel who was represented by his Commissioner For Information, Mr Charles Udoh attributed his success stories in office to the cooperation and support he enjoys from the people of Akwa Ibom State.

According to Vanguard Newspapers, Governor Emmanuel was selected for the award for his “investments in agriculture, healthcare, education and infrastructure. His boosting food sufficiency, providing quality education, and quality healthcare programmes arereference points.

‘Apart from renovating and re-equipping the Ikono, Etinan, and Ituk-Mbang general hospitals, in less than four years, Udom Emmanuel ensured the delivery of over 25 containers of medical equipment to healthcare facilities that provide free medical services to children below five years, pregnant women and the elderly”.

Vanguard adds that Governor Emmanuel “has ensured free and compulsory basic education in public schools, he took over 17 community secondary schools, constructed and renovated 400 school blocks and paid N600 million WAEC and NABTEB fees of Akwa Ibom indigenes in public secondary schools annually”.

For over four months, in 20 meetings of at least two hours per sitting, the Vanguard Board of Editors engaged in the brain-racking, energy-sapping and painstaking task of selecting nominees for the 2018 personality of the year awards.

The awards are part of Vanguard’s policy of promoting activities that will lead to a better life for the people.

To nominate a person for an award, an editor must be ready for a barrage of questions concerning the nominee’s profile, integrity, accomplishments, impact of the accomplishments on the polity and why the nominee is better than other nominees.

After this rigorous process, Vanguard is presenting 17 Nigerians, who have etched their footprints on the sands of time. The awards are in six categories – Personality of the year, Business man of the year, Governor of the year, Banker of the year, Lifetime achievement, and Humanitarian service.

Other Governors honoured at the Personality of the years awards included those of Delta, Sokoto, Enugu, Kwara & Oyo states.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: